Tags

, , , , , ,

Soo, that promised Dragon*Con post should be up within a couple days but before I post all the costumes and awesomeness that is Dragon*Con, I thought I’d share a simple maternity shirt I made to get myself in the spirit.

Now, I usually like to cosplay (or dress up) for Dragon*Con. I knew, however, that I wouldn’t be comfortable dressing up this year. Here’s a picture of my masquerade costume from 2011. Yes, I know. I’m a geek.

Needless to say, for this year, comfort was key! So, what better to do than to jazz up a comfy and inexpensive t-shirt? I used the freezer paper stencil method and chose the iconic Star Wars phrase “The force is strong with this one” to poke fun of my growing belly. Again, *geeky*.

Materials Used:

  • T-shirt (I purchased a plain maternity one from Target)
  • Stencil
  • Freezer paper
  • Scissors
  • Exacto knife
  • Iron
  • Acrylic paint(s) AND a fabric medium OR fabric paint(s)
  • Foam brush

First things first, you need to design your stencil. I simply downloaded a “Star Wars” font and printed out my text onto a piece of paper. I then cut out a piece of freezer paper the same size as my piece of paper and placed the freezer paper on top of the printed paper. Make sure the freezer paper is paper side up. You should be able to see your design through the freezer paper.

Next, trace your design onto the freezer paper.

Cut out your design on the freezer paper very carefully using scissors and/or an exacto knife. I found that I used a combination of the two.

Once your have your design cut out, line up the freezer paper stencil on your t-shirt where you’d like the design to go. I chose to center mine over my belly. *Smiles* Then, with the freezer paper shiny side down, iron the freezer paper onto your shirt using a medium heat. The iron will bond the freezer paper to the shirt! Press down well on all the edges.

Make sure the freezer paper is completely bonded with your shirt. This will prevent any potential paint bleeding down the road.

Insert a piece of cardboard inside your shirt and place it underneath wherever you plan on filling in your stencil. The cardboard prevents any paint from seeping through to the backside of your shirt. Next, pick your paint color(s)! I chose an acrylic paint in an aquamarine color and added some fabric medium per the directions. The fabric medium helps the acrylic paint have a softer texture once dry. Though, using a paint specifically meant for fabric is also good.

Once my paint was mixed, I used a foam brush and carefully painted inside the text. I believe I applied around 3 coats to give the text a more opaque finish.

Once your paint is completely dry, peel off your freezer paper slowly. You should be left with an awesome custom t-shirt!

Check me out – all smiles at Dragon*Con 2012 with my future Jedi!

Who knew that freezer paper was so useful? I don’t think I’ve ever bought freezer paper before but I guess I have a lot now for any future DIY projects.

