Tags

, , ,

Just hear those sleigh bells jingle-ing
Ring ting tingle-ing too
Come on, it’s lovely weather
For a sleigh ride together with you.

Hey, y’all! It’s time for a Christmas in July entire week o’ posts! There’s no question that I love Christmas and everything that comes with it – the baking, the music, the decorations, and the twinkling lights. Christmas is always a magical time and I’m finding it hard to believe that this Christmas, I’ll have the best present of all: a newborn baby!

So, this week’s posts will all be inspired by said holiday and I thought there was no better way to start off than with one of the most beloved Christmas stories/movies of all time: The Grinch Who Stole Christmas.

This past Christmas, I was inspired by The Grinch quote: “Maybe Christmas doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas… perhaps.. means a little bit more!”

I wanted to display this quote on a small plaque just to remind myself here and there of the true meaning of Christmas. However, painting text/words can be a little frustrating, especially when the text is on the smaller side. Remembering a pin I saw on Pinterest, I knew just the trick to make the text neat and more precise – a ballpoint pen! Check it out!

Materials Used:

  • Small plaque (can be found in the craft wood section of most any craft store)
  • Red paint
  • Quote printed out on regular copy paper
  • Ballpoint pen
  • White paint pen

First, I painted the wooden plaque with a couple coats of red paint. I then downloaded a “Dr. Seuss” inspired font and installed it on my computer. You can easily find a Dr. Seuss font and many other unique fonts through Google. I typed the quote on Microsoft Word and formatted the layout and size to fit just right onto the wood plaque.

Next, cut off the excess white paper around the text and tape the paper onto the wooden plaque making sure the text is even and centered. Take a ballpoint pen and firmly trace the edges of your text to create an outline or an indentation into the wood below. I suggest making your text bold or using a font with thicker lettering so that each letter has adequate spacing. That way, the text doesn’t get all jumbled together. Pull off the paper once you’ve completed all the outlining.

Tah-dah! Now, you’ll have your quote outlined on the wood which allows the text to be painted more precisely. The indentations also help to keep the paint within that specific letter! I used a fine-tip white paint pen and just filled in the letters. The indentations were very helpful.

And, that’s that. A small wooden plaque to display during my fav-o-rite holiday. I will most definitely use this technique again one day… hmm. *Smiles*

I hope y’all are having a great Monday so far. Thinking of Christmas already is pretty intense and overwhelming but a little cheer in the middle of this July heat is welcome. Stay tuned for a special Christmas Pin-Tastic Tuesday tomorrow!

