Tags

, , , ,

It’s Monday. (Woo-hoo, The Bachelorette is on tonight!) And, for once, I’m actually kind of glad to be back in the weekday routine. Eric and I just got through a whirlwind of a weekend. His family came into town for the weekend and we also had our day-long childbirth preparation class on Saturday. Yes, the class was all day long. I must say that I am thankful that we went because I learned a lot more than I expected to. I also think Eric realized just how significant of a job he has as well. So, all in all, we had a busy, but a wonderful weekend.

With everything going on, I’ve completely failed to show the progress we made the previous weekend. That progress being a newly invigorated obsession with teal and a painted nursery. Do you remember when I talked about my color inspiration for the nursery? Well, I decided to paint the walls a dark teal color as majorly inspired from Young House Love’s blog. I color matched Martha Stewart’s “Plumage” color to Behr’s Interior Flat Premium Plus Ultra paint. I chose Behr because they had a primer plus paint option that is (supposedly) low in VOCs.

Here are some “before” shots.

Thankfully, my Dad is a professional painter and was able to knock out the trim in a few hours one day and the walls in a few hours the next day. Eric and I are not the best painters, so thank you, Dad!

Here are some progress shots.

Two coats later, and, after keeping myself away from the fumes for as long as possible, I was rewarded with a completed room and a new teal obsession.

There’s just something about the dark teal against the glossy ultra-white trim that makes me giddy and I couldn’t be happier with the way it turned out. My camera is not the best so the color may be slightly off. I will admit that I was afraid the color would make the room a bit dark but, thankfully we get a lot of natural light in this room.

Now, it’s time to start moving some of the furniture in and the beginning stages of getting everything together! *Excited*

