Tags

, , , ,

Ugh, day number 2 of awful traffic! I must admit that I am definitely looking forward to having a break from traffic during my maternity leave. But, hey, it’s Friday! Woo hoo!

Let’s start off this weekend with a super easy DIY hospital door birth announcement. I completed this last weekend for one of my best friend’s baby shower gifts. She’s due October 27th and this is her second child. I can’t believe how close our due dates are!

With this project, you could hang it on your hospital door and/or bring it home and hang it up in your nursery. For privacy reasons, I’ve heard some hospitals don’t allow decorations on the doors but I will probably make one for myself because I’m just like that. *Weird* Best of all, this project is completely customizable!

Materials Used:

  • Styrofoam ball
  • Flat canvas
  • Acrylic paints
  • Ribbon
  • Hot glue
  • Paint pen – optional
  • Stick-on letters – optional

Starting off with my canvas, I got out my acrylic paints and chose a bunch of fun colors. My friend has a Dr. Seuss-themed nursery so I chose ribbons and colors to complement her room. I drew a two inch border around the perimeter of my canvas which was 9X12. I painted the inside an aqua blue.

Next, I painted the perimeter with various colors of multi-sized lines and used a black paint pen for outlining. I added some stick-on letters (which can be found in the scrapbook aisles of any craft store) so that she can add the baby’s date and time of delivery, weight, and height once the baby arrives. If you don’t have stick-on letters, you could definitely hand write or paint the words. Mine turned out slightly messy but I kind of like it like that. Choose a design that works for you!

Next, onto the ribbon covered ball! Take a styrofoam ball and cut it in half. This project only uses one half so store your other half for another project! The ball I used is probably around four inches in diameter. The reason to cut the ball in half is so that it will lay flat against a door/wall.

Plug in your glue gun and choose a bunch of different colored ribbons in varying widths. Cut lengths of ribbon from all the different rolls. The amount will vary depending on your ribbon and ball size. *Snicker* Taking one length of ribbon at a time, hot glue the ends together in order to make a loop shape. Repeat this process until you have enough loops to cover your styrofoam ball half. You can either glue your loops onto the styrofoam or use straight pins and pin them. I apologize for my complete lack of picture taking during this process. Doh!

Once your ribbon ball is complete, take some more ribbon and attach your ribbon ball to your canvas. Then, attach a ribbon to the top of the canvas so that you can hang up your DIY hospital door birth announcement!

I’m happy to say that my friend loved her gift! Happy weekend y’all!

UPDATE: Here’s the one I made for myself.